Chasing Rainbows


Having spent most of the week indoors, either working or decorating, I was going stir-crazy and just needed to get out on the water.  Although the forecast was for ‘sunshine and showers’ it seemed that the showers were winning and far outweighing the former…

P8140139

…and as I left the shore and headed North into the Sound of Shuna the rain pored down. The sea flattened off, wind with tide, and I was carried swiftly past the marina at Dallens Bay.

With the sun briefly on my back I chased the end of the rainbow, sadly no gold this time…

P8140140

On leaving the wind shadow and protection offered by Shuna Island I could see the sea state starting to deteriorate. I’d been hoping to cross to Rubha Mòr via Eilean Balnagowan (planning on getting out at Kentallen Bay) but as I crossed towards Eilean Balnagowan I lost my nerve and decided to hug the coast instead.  Paddling solo is always a committing experience.

P8140143

A couple of kilometers after this photo (Eilean Balnagowan, left horizon in shaddow) I found myself surfing on the quartering sea. In some areas Clapotis was forming and it became a bumpy ride.  By the time I reached Cuil Bay I’d had enough and pulled up on the beach.  Time to call for my ride home and a hot meal…

Trip Odom : 10.5Km
Max Speed : 11.6Kph
Moving Time : 01h29min
Moving Avg : 7.0Kph

About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Sea Kayaking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

