Re-lighting the blue touch paper


I’ve been living in the highlands since the begining of May. It’s taken a while for things to settle down (including the weather), and with the coast so near by I’ve been concentrating on sea kayaking.

At the back of my mind was which peak to do first. It had to be something special, right? I’d thought about a solo of the Aonach Eagach; but it’s been a while since I did any scrambling and I’d rather wait and do that great traverse again in style. My closest Munro (Beinn Sgulaird) was also calling; but that ended up being done earlier this week…

…and so at the begining of July I opted to do a peak that I last visited on 7th Feb 1994….

It’s been a long time coming to wait to revisit such a grand mountain….

Buachaill Etive Mor rises abruptly from Rannoch Moor, guarding the entrance to Glen Coe. I remember being entranced the first time I saw it. For those that don’t know; it’s full of great climbs; Agag’s Groove, Crowberry Gully and Curved Ridge. This is the view that you get of it approaching along the A82. 

As you get closer, you realise that you’ve been looking at the end of a long ridge and not the conical “Mount Doom” that you first imagined.

The tourist route goes past the SMC hut “Lagangarbh” and rises up the steep headwall of Coire na Tulaich.

Coire na Tulaich: You’ll need a rope to descend here safely in Winter.

From the top of Stob Dearg (1022m) you get a fantastic view across Rannoch Moor.

Having the summit to myself and 17 years since I was last here… Shocked

I never did do the second Munro on the Buchaille the last time I was here. We bagged Stob Dearg and ran off back down the Coire.

Heading along the ridge; looking back past Ston na Doire to an unfamiliar view of Stob Dearg…

…and looking forwards to my first *new* Munro in 9 years… Stob na Bròige (956m)…

From where you get a fantastic view of Buachaille Etive Beag and the glaciated valley of Lairig Gartain…

A great wee trot in the hills and back home for afternoon tea…

Then it was home to load up the car and head, via Skye, to Harris for lots of this… Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy


…but that’s a seperate story! Very Happy

About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Adventure, Climbing, Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

