Recovery


Sternum : Oblique fracture of body of sternum. There are fractures of the sternum which in some segments extend to involve the costochondral joints.

Thoracic Spine : There is wedge fracture of T6 vertebral body with moderate anterior wedging, also fractures of the vertebral bodies of T5, T8 and possibly T7 with indentation of the superior endplates. Minimal loss of height of T7 and T8.

Lungs : Sub-segmental collapse noted in both lung bases.

It’s been a little over 10 weeks since my accident. I managed to get hold of a written assessment of my injuries via a chiropractor 7 weeks after I was injured. These last couple of weeks I’ve started to feel stronger and now only wear my (non)fashionable body brace for protection while driving. It’s a frustrating time; Summer’s on the way and plans I had for various adventures have been postponed. I’m itching to get back down the gym and start strengthening wasted muscles. However, my physiotherapist looked horrified when I suggested I start doing "reverse dumbbell flies" to concentrate on the affected area. No weights just yet; but gentle none impact aerobic activity has been approved.

I’ve been out and about, visiting places I know well ; parts of Wales, the peak & lake district.  I also spent a long weekend camped on the side of Loch Sunart in Scotland and while there managed a day trip on the ferry as a foot passenger to the Isle of Mull while another day was spent further North at Arisaig. I’m sure that I’ll get up that way again for some sea kayaking before Summers out. The lure of the sea is strong, especially when you’re out of action…

 

Tobermory, Isle of Mull Scotland

Arisaig

About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

