Forty Two


According to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, researchers from a pan-dimensional, hyper-intelligent race of beings constructed the second greatest computer in all of time and space, "Deep Thought", to calculate the Ultimate Answer to the Great Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything. After seven and a half million years of pondering the question, Deep Thought provides the answer: "forty-two."
 
The reaction:
"Forty-two!" yelled Loonquawl. "Is that all you’ve got to show for seven and a half million years’ work?"
"I checked it very thoroughly," said the computer, "and that quite definitely is the answer. I think the problem, to be quite honest with you, is that you’ve never actually known what the question is."
Today also happens to be the completion of my forty second orbit around the sun.  Yes, it’s my my birthday !    
 
So far I’ve not had any flashes of inspiration on what life’s all about. I wonder if the big secret gets revealed later… ?
About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forty Two

  1. Douglas says:

    It was my birthday recently too. I was lucky enough too go paddling round Burrow Head. I cant remember how long ago it was that I was 42 but life does get better each year, at least so far!!
     
    :o)

  2. Andy says:

    Welcome to my blog Douglas. :o)  I\’ve been meaning to drop you a line for quite a while, to just say thanks for the inspiration that you\’ve unwittingly provided. Well; if life is going to get better each year then it looks like I\’m in for one hell of a ride 😉  The trouble is I seem to have too many things on the go. Fingers in too many pies. I don\’t know when the next sea kayaking trip will take place but all being well I have the May Bank holiday weekend open canoeing up on Loch Awe. I\’m taking the familiy, including 2 pre-teen kids for 2 nights wild(ish) camping so hopefully that should be good. I guess that I\’ll be passing your neck of the woods on the long drive to the Northlands.

Leave a Reply

