Breaking out…


The last few weeks seem to have been great. Breaking out of those "winter blues" that seem to prevail on those cold February mornings. The start of March has seen the first signs of spring arrive and  I even rushed out and gave the lawns a trim. Today has seen a cold snap return and I’ve just seen some pretty large hail stones coming down outside (out of focus picture attached).
 
Adventures ; Well Kandersteg was a washout as the photos I posted a while back show. We managed to get some things done, some hill walking and ski touring, but none of the icefalls that we were hoping climb.  An elderly woman out there said it was the most mild winter she had seen in 30 years as a ski instructor.
 
I’ve been up to a few things since we came back but nothing major. The bike’s got some use and I’ve been hammering things aerobically down the gym, trying to loose a few pounds that have built up over the Winter.  I had a cracking bike ride one morning last week before my shift started; a couple of hours just following my nose around the North Worcestershire countryside. Last week there was finally enough day light for me to cycle to work and back again ; the first time this year.
 
The weekend before last I managed to get out for a day with Birmingham Canoe Club.  We did an easy section of the River Severn between Newtown and Abermule in Wales and I borrowed one of the clubs kayaks.  I was going a bit stir crazy and just needed to get out.  It was fun, but in hindsight I wished I’d have taken my open canoe.
 
Last Saturday Phil and I had a pre-pre-season sea kayak meet. (The pre-season meet is next weekend) . We had a few hours touring on Llyn Clywedog in Mid Wales.  It was a really good day, quite windy, and I had to brace a couple of times as waves hit me side on.  We paddled for what seemed like a couple of hours up the reservoir for a picnic lunch and then flew back in 45 winutes with the wind behind our backs and almost surfing the waves. Great Fun…   I wrote more about that trip on the NWSK blog.
About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Sea Kayaking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

