Big Yellow Taxi


I had a superb weekend on the Welsh island of Anglesey. I met up with a group of sea kayakers who are loosly bound together via this website.  They were a really friendly bunch and I had two great days paddling with them.  The backdrop during our return leg on Saturday was superb with several guys strung "outboard" of me with the Snowdonia peaks in the background and framed by the foreground sea and a vivid blue sky. My only regret is that as I was concerned in staying upright in my kayak and was unable to capture the scene in a photo.
One of the other sub-groups further around the coast from where my group was ran into some trouble which has been reported here and more formally here. There’s nothing else for me to add. Like climbers, sea kayakers know the risks and accept them as part of the ‘game’. I’ve seen the big yellow bird attending incidents while out in the hills on enough occasions now. I have friends who have made it’s aquaintence up close and personal and I know of "friends of friends" for who the big yellow taxi arrived too late. Sometimes sh*t happens, that’s life. Whether by luck, skill or some greater design I’ve managed to have no need for it during 15 years of my outdoor career so far.  I hope and plan to keep it that way.
About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Sea Kayaking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

