Departing for Maharashtra


I don’t think that I’ve ever been any further East than Saltzburg in Austria and that was on a ski-ing trip maybe 15 years ago.  I have a desire to travel – but not a pocket big enough and apart from 2 trips across to Canada I’ve never really travelled outside of Europe.

Wednesday morning I fly to India.  It’s all come around a bit quick.  It’s a business trip ; so not all fun, but a chance to see and experience different cultures.  Two of my colleagues work out of Pune on India’s West coast, 4 hours drive from Mumbai.  I’m off "on a jolly", no real reason to go apart from to have a few beers with the boys, forge relationships, and maybe see if any prcesses can be improved.  I was going to go out last year for maybe two weeks but the timing just wasn’t right…. and so now it’s a 4 our stopover in Frankfurt on Wednesday, an overnight hotel in Mumbai on Wednesday night and then taxi to Pune for Thursday lunchtime. Apparently Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are filming there at the moment. I’m not into hero worship and if someone hadn’t have said, "you know – Tomb Raider", then I wouldn’t have know who they were.  Anyway, another little adventure coming my way and a change of scene on the long run up ’till Christmas. Don’t you just love life ?

About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

