Never a camera when you need one.


As planned I found myself woken by the alarm clock at 6:10am on Sunday morning.  Playing "Billy no-mates" I drove up to North Wales for a trot around the Snowdon horse shoe.  I have no idea how many times I’ve done it.  I remember one year I went up Snowdon 6 times.  This year I’ve been up there at least twice though it seems a long time since I did the whole horse shoe.  So it’s familiar ground. It’s always crowded, even in the depths of Winter, but the scenery is always superb. ….well it is unless it’s raining or misty  …which it can be a lot of the time.
 
The weather forcast was superb and I wasn’t disappointed.  A little mist on the A5 during the drive up there.  It soon cleared as the sun rose.  I forgot my camera. I realised within 5 min of leaving the house, but I have sooooooooo many photos of Snowdonia it’s unbelievable.  So I left it ; at home, on my desk in my office still re-charging….
 
Anyway, I arrived at Capel Curig and rounded the bend as the horse shoe comes into view….  Wished I’d took the camera.  The lake near Plas-y-Brenin was like a mill pond. I took a photo with my ‘phone. It’s a bit cr*p and doesn’t do the view justice.
 
I met a guy on the knife-edge ridge of Crib Goch.  I recognised the Sedgley accent immediatley and we struck up a conversation which lasted all the way to Snowdon Summit.  "Ian" is 56 and had given up smoking at 40. He now runs 9 miles three times a week.  15 years between us and I struggled to keep up….  fair play to the guy.  Time to hit the gym a bit more often me thinks…
 
 

About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Never a camera when you need one.

  1. Jules says:

    cheeky sod its my camera

  2. Mark says:

    Hit the gym? . . . .  you\’d have left me panting in the carpark !!!

Leave a Reply

