Road Rash


The middle of August already.  It’s about this time of year that you can see the Winter constellation of Orion peeping above the horizon just before dawn.  Time seems to be flying by and there are so many pidgeon holes plans and adventures I would like to do.  Once again it’s been ages since I "blogged".  For some people the words just seem to flow.  I find it a bit harder to find something interesting to say.
Wednesday nights I go out.  I always have done, for the last 20 years or so – probably longer.  Thes days I get together with "the lads" from my climbing club and we generally cycle about 20/25 miles in the few remaining hours of Summer Sunlight and then have a few beers before cycling home around mid-night.  Last week would have been a pretty standard outing had I not clashed wheels, while cycling no-handed, with my mate Ian. Road Rash !!!    well it could have been worse. They all thought I’d broke my collar bone (again !). I’m wondering if I knocke dmyself out momentarily, because I remember precious little about it and they all say I looked pretty stunned when I eventually regained my feet.
 
Well,  I posted some pics in my latest album "Summer Fun".  We had a Bar-B-Que party and 30 or so people turned up towards the end of July. Was a really, really good day.  My mate Dawn came down from Newcastle too and it was good to see her as we don’t seem to chat much these days.  Anyway, the food, beer, and company were all good and it’ll be one of those memories I retain.
 
Holiday season is upon us.  I travel south to Padstow in Cornwall later this week.  Really looking forward too it. Haven’t been there for a number of years.  I’d hoped to be taking my new Sea Kayak with me, but it’s not arrived yet and I feel a bit let down. We took the open Canadian canoe up to the Lake District and had a fab time for 4 days.  The weather was just superb and it was great to chill and do nothing most days.  One day we met a group of people from a canoeing message board and went paddling with them on Derwent Water. They seemed like a nice bunch and we had a great day.
About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

