Ramblings


About 6-7 years ago I was stood at the top of Wen Zawn on Anglesey eyeing up "A Dream of White Horses". A classic climb that traverses the diagonaly through the overhands and up the 300′ cliff face that rises vertically out of the sea. The day was perfect. It was August bank holiday, the sun was out and the sea was like a mirror….
 
We bottled it !  …to some regret.  It was one of those days when things weren’t running smoothly.  We’d never been there before and ended up further round the coast. When we did eventually find the route we set the abseil up in the wrong position, we should have climbed down lower.  Things didn’t feel right and we went home with our tails between our legs and "The Dream" remained just that.  It still does so to this day….
 
One good thing about the day (of many !), was that a group of sea kayakers came paddling across into the zawn far below us. Conditions were perfect and they were obviously having a great time.  Images like that stay with me.  I’ve wanted to go sea kayaking ever since.  One of those "must do before I die" things to do.
 
The thoughts have developed and whenever I’ve been climbing on sea cliffs since and have seen a group of paddlers I’ve longed to have a go.  I guess it’s the idea of fredom and pure adventure that it brings. No paths to follow. Just pack your camping gear and a few days supplies, make a plan, wait for the weather and off you go….
 
….and so……    I’ve booked myself onto a sea kayaking introductory course with the national watersports centre at Plas Menai in two weeks time.  As the reader may guess, I’m really looking forward to it.  My head has been full of the idea of doing this since my return from Scotland.  I feel a major purchase coming on some time soon so much so, I went to look at the craft below on Saturday.
 
On a different subject, the lads in the office have just set up a video projector.  They have a USB digital receiver complete with integrated FreeView attached to a lap top and are ready to watch the Germany v Ecuador world cup match on the TV.  Blimey, who’d think they had work to do ?   Luckily the beer in the filing cabinet, left over from a Christmas party, is thankfully out of date.
 
….Talking about Christmas parties ; I just recieved an office e-mail to "All-users" informing me of the date for the company 2006 Xmas bash….  FFS ! it’s 6 months away, God ! as if life doesn’t feel short enough already !
About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

