It’s been a while…


It’s been ages and ages since I added to my blog. I’ve been meaning to but just haven’t felt inspired.  Things at work were hectic for a month around Easter and I just didn’t seem to have chance to breath, let alone write anything here.
 
I lost a friend, so it seems.  Someone who was once dear to me has slipped away despite all my efforts to prevent it.  Sometimes life kicks you in the balls and there’s little you can do about it. I once heard someone say, "whatever hurts me [emotionally] can only make me stronger".  I’m not sure about that.  I think they were putting on a brave face.  I wished I was stronger, harder, not a big softie.  I think I think too much….
 
I never got around to posting anything on Natasha’s Birthday…  Tash I love you loads.  xxxxx
 
There’s been a few more adventures along the way.  I took 45 colleagues to Wales for a weekend. That took a lot of organising. Some of us did an epic 18 mile mountain marathon in the rain…  Others had a nice amble up Snowdon with a variety of different routes.  Everyone enjoyed it.  It’s the 9th year that I’ve run the event so I suppose next years 10th anniversary should be a special one.
 
"The Lads", including 2 ladies who were "honorary lads" went to Scotland to rough it in the Inverpolly wilderness for a few days.  The weather had the last say and our plans were modified a bit, but we still had a great time.  I’ve uploaded some photos.  We spent time camping in Scourie and at Achnahaird in the far North West above Ullapool. The highlight of the trip was 2 nights spent on the island of Eilean Mor on Loch Sionascaig….  The trouble with these trips is that you just come back wanting more.  Nothing seems to satisfy and the whole adventure ball game just goes up another level.  I’ve spent the last 2 days browsing the web for sea kayaks.  My eyes have been opened to a whole new world of adventure and future possibilities. Here’s a link to inspire…

 

 
About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

