Motivation (or lack of it)


After my last blog here I suppose that I better add that I had a superb day last Saturday in Snowdonia.  The weather was almost alpine.  I even saw one guy walking up the Ogwen valley with skis strapped to his back.  My friends and I soloed Tower Slabs in the Namless Cwm.  Been there, done that before, but the ice was really meaty and it was a prelude for what’s to come…
 
Yesterday my wife and kids flew out to Spain.  My bro-in-law runs a bar there. I’m missing them already. I’m a people person.  I enjoy my own bit of space and solitude, but I like the hum-drum of other peoples lives going on in the background. The house is soooo quiet without the kids running around, dancing, etc.
 
Well they flew out to Span because this Saturday I’m off to Norway. That’s where the title of this blog comes in…
I am Soooooo looking forward to it. A week with the lads doing some quality ice climbing. I’m finding myself clock watching at the moment. A day and a half at work and I’m "outa here".  We’re flying out of John Lennon Airport in Liverpool.  I think I’ll play "Working Class Hero" on my ipod as we take off – in some sort of personal jesture and remembrance of the great man. Great song.
 
We’re going to Rjukan in the Telmark region.  Did I say, "I am Soooooo looking forward to it" ?  Last night "the lads" came around my house and we sorted out gear.  Ryanair have a 15kg weight allowance.  We pre-booked a sports bag too… last night it was weighing in at around 28gk with two climbing "racks", 4 – 60 meter ropes and a mountain first aid kit.  Supprising how much gear you can accumulate in this game.  We laid everything out for a couple of photo’s for insurance purposes. There was around £1100 in ice screws alone. Another £400 in ropes and about £800 in ice axes, not to mention the rest of the kit…..
 
Anyway… enough of that. I wonder if anyone bothers to read this stuff ? personal ramblings. My work colleages think I’m mad; bug*ering off to climb frozen waterfalls when I could just go and lye on a beach somewhere or go ski-ing.  Each to their own. Life would be boring if we were all the same.
 
Right. Where did I put that motivation ? I really should get some more work done….

About Andy Harpur

Interests : The Scottish Highlands, The Pennine Alps, The Milky Way, Abbot Ale, Mountaineering, Climbing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Sea Kayaking, Astronomy, Guitar, Penny Whistle. I live and breath for the outdoor lifestyle. New places, new faces, new adventures....
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

